6th grade RPC English Course Summary

Last year, I started doing the Ron Paul Curriculum. I really enjoyed it, and my favorite subject was English.  Today, I’m going to be giving you a summary of the course, and what my favorite and least favorite books were.

So, the course was divided into two “subjects”. First, there was either 1,2, or 3 weeks of Literature taught by Mr. Bradley Fish, and then, after the Literature came an equal part of grammar, taught by Mr. Luke Mullins.  At the end of each week, there is a writing assignment.  Most of the time, they were supposed to be 1-2 page essays.  Once and a while, there was something different like a book report, creative writing, or a research paper.  My favorite writing assignment was probably either the research paper or the creative writing about a book that we read.

The selection of books that Mr. Fish chose was okay, but I definitely didn’t love all of them. Some of them seemed more aimed at a 10-year old’s interests.  Here is the list of books that were assigned:

    1. The Railway Children by E. Nesbit
2. Hans Brinker and the Silver Skates by Mary Mapes Dodge
3. The Cat of Bubastes by G. A. Henty
4. Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne
5. A Wonder-Book for Girls and Boys by Nathaniel Hawthorne
6. Tanglewood Tales by Nathaniel Hawthorne
7. Swiss Family Robinson by Johann Wyss
8. The Story of the Treasure Seekers by E. Nesbit
9. Just So Stories by Rudyard Kipling
10. Call of the Wild by Jack London

My Favorite 3 books were The Cat of Bubastes by G. A. Henty,  Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne, and Swiss Family Robinson by Johann Wyss.   My 3 least favorite were A Wonder-Book for Girls and Boys by Nathaniel Hawthorn, Tanglewood Tales by Nathaniel Hawthorne, and The Story of the Treasure Seekers by E. Nesbit.  My absolute favorite book was The cat of Bubastes.  It was one of the two or three exciting books in the reading list.

Overall, I liked the Literature lessons better, just because I don’t enjoy grammar at all…  I did learn a lot in the grammar section, and I really enjoyed writing the research paper that was assigned in the grammar part of the class.

 

My very first writing assignment: https://jillofalltrades2016.wordpress.com/2016/01/22/the-great-flood/

VS.

One of my better essays for this course:  https://jillofalltrades2016.wordpress.com/2016/10/14/the-legend-of-william-tell/

 

 

Leave a Reply

