Greek Gods and Goddeses

One of the things that I think influenced Greek myths a lot was all of the gods that they believed in.  You can hardly ever read greek myths without one of the gods being mentioned.  So, today I will tell you a little bit about some of the most well known Greek gods.

A few of the most famous gods are Zeus, Athena, Hera, Poseidon, Artemis, Ares, Aphrodite, Hestia, and Apollo.

Zeus was god of the sky, and also king of all of the gods.
Athena was goddess of wisdom, war, and useful arts.
Hera was goddess of marriage, mothers, and family.  She was also queen of the gods, and Zeus’s wife.
Poseidon was god of the sea.
Artemis was goddess of the moon, young girls, and the hunt.
Apollo was god of archery, music, poetry, prophecy, medicine, and later on the god of the sun.
Aphrodite was goddess of love.
Hestia was goddess of the home.
Well, I guess this wasn’t really an essay, but I hope you enjoyed it anyway! 🙂

-Odessa

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Greek Gods and Goddeses

  1. That was interesting Odessa! After I became a Christian believer when I was 17, I took Mythology as a HS elective because I wanted to compare it to Christianity and see how it fit. At the same time I was studying world history also as an elective. It was revealing because I came away from it all believing more than ever that the Word of God was the real truth.

    Like

Leave a Reply

